FAI Free Flight World Cup 2015


Report of the FAI Jury on Sierra Cup 2015

Last update of this page: 16 October 2015
Competition2015 Sierra Cup
FAI Jury members

1. Roger Simpson USA

2. Jim Parker USA

3. Charlie Jones USA

Advance information

On International Schedule/entries through internet/some entries sent to non-PC flyers

Schedule of competition

Sunday 10/11 F1A, F1B, F1C, F1Q
Monday 10/12 F1G, F1H, F1J/P

Duration of rounds

Miniís 45 minute rounds
ABC-1 hour rounds. 5 7 9 minute flyoffs

Breaks between rounds

None Scheduled except for fly offs

Maximum durations in each round

Mini Events 120 Max (5 rounds) Then fly offs at 3 min, 4 min and 5 minutes
First round maxes F1A, 210 seconds, F1B 240 seconds, F1C 240 seconds, and 180 all rounds. Rounds 2-7 180 seconds all events Flyoffs 5 minute then 7 minute 9 minute rounds same day.

Interruptions and delays

No delays in F1A,B,C, or mini events. ABC decided same day-Mini events flown next day.

Weather and visibility

Good weather for entire contest.stretch of weather for entire week. No models lost out of sight. Hot days.

Flight line - changes of position

Line move after round 2, then balance of rounds and fly off from next line.

Number of starting poles

6 poles for F1A, 7 poles for F1B and F1C flown from line due to limited entries.

Number of competitors per pole

2-3 for F1A, 2-4 for F1B, F1C from line.

Local rules or deviations from Sporting Code


Observations on timekeeping

A time your pole mates contest (fly one and time one) with no controversy noted, including F1C engine timing.

Prize-giving and issue of results - confirm organisers provide results with full names, nationalities and number of juniors

Silver and Bronze Medals to places 2-3 with first place receiving glass Championís Trophy, Top Junior F1A and F1B-approximate value $1443.
Results sent e-mail

Any incident or accident

None reported


None recorded

[Aeromodelling Commission] - [Results of Sierra Cup]
[FF World Cup rules 2015] - [FF World Cup report 2015] - [FF World Cup results 2015]

This page produced by Ian Kaynes